side menu icon

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of Girl Scouts San Diego consists of a diverse group of 26 volunteers who are community leaders and professionals. They ensure that the Girl Scout mission is carried out in San Diego and Imperial counties. Board members are selected for their commitment to improving the lives of girls as well as their leadership, volunteer and nonprofit experience, ability to make financial contributions to Girl Scouts, professional and educational background, and knowledge of the community. They are chosen by the Board Development Committee and elected by the voting members of the Council. Board members can serve up to two three-year terms.

The role of the Board of Directors is one of governance. Their responsibilities include strategic planning, fund development, appointment of the Executive Director, financial oversight, and interaction with the community. Questions, comments, or referrals for Board of Directors or Board Development Committee can be directed to the Office of the Chief Executive Officer. 

Elected Officers
  • Rick_Brooks


    Rick Brooks
    Vice President, Director/Chief Investment Officer
    Blankinship & Foster, LLC

  • board_Regina_Buckley

    Vice Chair

    Regina Buckley
    Community Volunteer, Attorney

  • file


    Andy Gallagher
    Community Volunteer

  • file


    Sylvia Vecchione
    Registered Nurse,
    Vecchione Plastic Surgery

Directors at Large:
Julia Brown
Community Volunteer
Beth Burns
Assistant Director, Women's Basketball
University of Southern California
Chris Carstens
Licensed Clinical Psychologist
Heather Clarke
Vice President and Branch Manager
Union Bank
Liza Crisafi
Chief Investment Officer
Julie Dubick
H.G. Consulting Group
Adjunct Professor
California Western School of Law
Laura Georgantos
Director of Organizational Effectiveness
Marcia Gill
Math Professor
San Diego City College
Chris Guglielmo
Vice President, Human Resources
Cubic Defense System
Karen Hewitt
Jones Day
Brent King
Chelsea's Light Foundation
Barbara Lamb
Program Manager
City of San Diego
Susan J. Luehrs
Senior Vice President, Southern California Regional Marketing Manager
Wells Fargo
Cindy Marten
San Diego Unified School District
Keith McKenzie
Delphi Private Advisors
Rosa Maria Robles
California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery
Suzanne Schlundt
Vice President, Marketing
Cox Communications
Denise Scott
Community Volunteer
Del Mar Pines Foundation for Education
Michelle Sterling
Vice President of Human Resources,
William V. Whelan
Soloman Ward Seidenwurm and Smith, LLP
Catherine Young
VP Internal Audit
Shelley Zimmerman
Chief of Police
The City of San Diego
Jo Dee Catlin Jacob
Chief Executive Officer

Jo Dee Catlin Jacob completed a 27-year career in the U.S. Navy, where she was a pioneer in the all-volunteer force. She attained the rank of Captain, and her last tour of duty was commanding officer of the naval station in Guam.

When Jo Dee joined Girl Scouts San Diego in 2001, she used her military savvy to originate Operation Thin Mint ®. Through the program, San Diegans have sent 2.5 million boxes of Girl Scout Cookies to deployed U.S. military troops.

Jo Dee has received numerous honors, including a national Public Relations Society of America Silver Anvil Award, a Nonprofit Leadership Fellowship to Harvard Business School, and San Diego Business Journal’s Most Admired Chief Executive Officer Award. The University of San Diego also presented Girl Scouts San Diego with the 2012 Kaleidoscope Award for Exceptional Governance.

Jo Dee is active in the 500+ member Rotary Club of San Diego, serving as President during 2012-2013. A former Brownie Girl Scout and graduate of Stanford and Pepperdine universities, she is an avid swimmer, golfer and scuba diver.