side menu icon
0_Girl Scouts 2018_CoolWomen_EmergingLeaders_Web

The Cool Women of 2018 (from left: Jeannie Hilger; Dea Hurston; Caroline Winn; Laura Shawver, Ph.D.; Paola Avila) with their Emerging Leader Girl Scout presenters (Paige Zimmerman, Rebecca Ebling, Elleanor Wong, Maria Burritt, Ana de Almeida Amaral)

Cool Women 2018

Honoring Cool Women, Investing in Emerging Leaders

Congratulations to our 2018 honorees:

Paola Avila – Vice President, International Business Affairs; San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce

Jeannie Hilger – vice president of Northrop Grumman Corporation’s Communications business

Dea Hurston – Arts Advocate/Philanthropist/Playwright

Laura Shawver, Ph.D. – President/CEO/Director; Synthorx, Inc.

Caroline Winn – Chief Operating Officer, San Diego Gas & Electric

Each year, Girl Scouts San Diego honors exemplary women whose personal and professional lives make them consummate role models for girls. Cool Women make the world a better place as they balance work, family, friends and community service. These female leaders shared the spotlight with 30 Emerging Leader Girl Scouts who were recognized for their outstanding achievements by our professional mentors.

With Co-chairs Sue Major and Arlene Harris and emcee Wendy Urushima-Conn, we celebrated our 2018 Cool Women and Emerging Leader Girl Scouts during a luncheon and ceremony at Coasterra.

Thank you to our outstanding and inspirational executive women mentors! Read what the Emerging Leader Girl Scouts have to say.

Event proceeds support programs that empower girls to use their voices, develop a strong sense of self, step outside their comfort zones, and build resilience.

1aMentor_PN2018_CoolWomenMentoring_ (577)_Web

Thank you to our outstanding executive women mentors! You inspired the Emerging Leaders in their career paths and personal lives.

  • Adriana A. Avalos
    Paola Avila
    Pamela Carson
    Emily Catt
    Susie Cranston
    Anne Fege
    Laura Georgantos
    Arlene Harris
    Kendall Helm
    Jeannie Hilger

  • Jenny Hill Bratt 
    Dea Hurston 
    Monica Ma 
    Sue Major 
    Kelly Prasser 
    Patti Roscoe 
    Laura Shawver 
    Nhu Tran 
    Wendy Urushima-Conn 
    Jean E. Vincent

0_Girl Scouts 2018_MentorsGroupPhoto_Web

2018 Media

  • Champion STEM Supporter

  • Ambassador Sponsors

    Patti Roscoe
    and Jim Tiffany

Advocate Sponsors
  • Anderson_Logo_Small
  • Dyna_Logo_Small
  • MorganStanley_Logo_Small

Mentor Sponsors
  • NG Logo_blue